This New Year

I was going to be all cool and do some “2010 Countdown” and share tidbits of my year with you.  Only there’s one problem:  I don’t remember much about 2010.

Really.  Upon careful consideration, I have decided that I have a terrible memory.  I don’t remember much from my childhood, I don’t remember much growing up.  I don’t remember much from this year.  I DO remember some of the emotional ups and downs, but it’s hard for me to pinpoint if it was an actual event that caused them or just the feelings of everyday life.

As the days run together and mundane tasks are completed, the canvas of my memory is washed by the blah white of them.  They seem to swallow up and fade the vivid colors of the “special” events of the year…leaving me with one of those monochromatic pictures that’s supposed to be funny:  “Snowman in Snowstorm”, “1,000,000 Snowflakes Among Marshmallows”,  “White Chocolate in Santa’s Beard”.   Not that I really care what my canvas looks like.  I do mind, however, not having any real memories that stand out.

So I am going to scrape the bottom of the barrel and re-cap my year with things I DO remember.  Ugly or not.

  • Hellos
  • My daughter turned 14
  • I turned 39
  • Laundry.  Hundreds of loads
  • Las Vegas
  • Jersey, our adopted Jack Russell, came to live with us
  • Lunching with my besties
  • Discovering strength
  • Remembering Christ
  • Working at the hospital–work, work, work!
  • Laughter over stupid things
  • Tears over stupid things
  • Oregon
  • Baby Emmet (nephew)
  • Bear Lake
  • Cohen learning to ride a two-wheeler
  • Yard work and tiki-torches
  • All 4 kids in school
  • Luke turning 12 and receiving the priesthood
  • Tate turning 8 and being baptized
  • Park City
  • Happy 16th Anniversary, Jason!
  • Antiquing
  • Baby Vivien (niece)
  • Discovering the joy of hiring someone to clean my house
  • Driving home from work, crying about people I met that day. More than once.
  • EMT classes
  • Gratitude
  • Medication (and forgetting to take it–oopsie!)
  • Regret
  • Discovery
  • Writing
  • Loving
  • Struggling
  • Wishing and dreaming
  • Sleeping…just a little longer…
  • Singing my lungs out
  • Fireworks, BBQs and family
  • Dancing around the kitchen to embarrass my children
  • Fighting the never-ending battle
  • Health
  • Blogging
  • Blessings
  • CPR.  Hoping to save the lives of others.
  • Goodbyes

I love the feeling of a new year, fresh with anticipation and wonder.  I also love the feeling of the old year, melancholy as it may be.  With the coming of a new year comes the expectation of change, hope and improvement.  A new canvas to be painted on.  A new masterpiece, maybe, or the glimmer of one yet to come.

I think Tennyson summed it up best with his poem, “Ring Out Wild Bells”:

Ring out, wild bells, to the wild sky,
The flying cloud, the frosty light:
The year is dying in the night–
Ring out, wild bells, and let him die.

Ring out the old, ring in the new–,
Ring happy bells, across the snow:
The year is going, let him go;
Ring out the false, ring in the true.

Ring out the grief that saps the mind,
For those that here we see no more;
Ring out the feud of rich and poor,
Ring in redress to all mankind.

Ring out a slowly dying cause,
And ancient forms of party strife;
Ring in the nobler modes of life,
With sweeter manners, purer laws.

Ring out the want, the care, the sin,
The faithless coldness of the times;
Ring out, ring out my mournful rhymes,
But ring the fuller minstrel in.

Ring out false pride in place and blood,
The civic slander and the spite;
Ring in the love of truth and right,
Ring in the common love of good.

Ring out old shapes of foul disease,
Ring out the narrowing lust of gold;
Ring out the thousand wars of old,
Ring in the thousand years of peace.

Ring in the valiant man and free,
The larger heart, the kindlier hand;
Ring out the darkness of the land–
Ring in the Christ that is to be.

 

A peaceful, happy and warm New Year to you all.  Wherever you may be.

3 thoughts on “This New Year

  1. Carma says:

    Loved this Jen girl!! I also love a New Year! It refreshes and cleanses! I hope you have a wonderful New Year! I love you Jen girl!!

  2. Jill W says:

    Jen, your recollection seems pretty colorful to me! A son gaining the priesthood, a son being baptized, a son starting school, three family members added (two babies and a dog)–these are the colorful threads that make laundry worth it! I’m going to go do some right now! Thanks for sharing your re-cap. I love to read what you write.

Leave a Reply

